agriculture review

In India, Two Main Wheat Growing Regions Are

by aditya abhishek


India is the second largest wheat-producing country in the world. Wheat is cultivated extensively on Indian soils. 

Growing Regions

Two main wheat-growing regions are Ganga- Satluj plains and Deccan, these include Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar and Rajasthan. 

Ganga-Satluj Plains

The Ganga-Satluj plains consist of states like Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, and Bihar which have plenty of fertile alluvial soil. 


While Deccan consists of Telangana, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu which is primarily made up of basalt.

Major Variety

Main wheat varieties cultivated in India are VL-832,VL-804, HS-365, HS-240 , HD2687,WH-147, WH-542, PBW-343, WH-896(d), PDW-233(d), UP-2338, PBW-502, etc. 

thanks for reading!

NEXT: Role Of Animals In Agriculture!